UPDATE MARCH 30, 2020:  The following City of Williamsburg buildings and facilities are closed to the public through April 23:  Municipal Building, Stryker Center, Quarterpath Recreation Center, Waller Mill Park, Police Department and Fire Station (only required staff will be at work, others will be teleworking). Governor Northam issued a "stay at home" executive order through June 10, 2020. Business assistance information can be found here. The City's telephone hotline (for city service questions):  (757) 259-7200 and the Virginia Health Dept. call center (for COVID-19 questions/concerns):  (757) 594-7069.

Past Mayors and Governors

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

List below are those who have served as Mayors of the City of Williamsburg, and those who have served as Governor of Virginia


Note: Records are incomplete for gaps in the 1700s and 1800s. Two ending dates are in doubt


John Holloway, 1712-23

Abraham Nicholas, 1735-36

Edward Barradall, 1736-37

John Harmer, 1737-38

Robert Davidson, 1738-39

John Harmer, 1745-46

Dr. George Gilmer, 1746-47

Dr. John Amson, 1750-51

John Blair, Jr., 1751-52

John Holt, 1752-53

John Randolph, 1755-56

John Prentis, 1759-60

Thomas Everard, 1766-67

Dr. James Cocke, 1767-68

George Wythe, 1768-69

John Blair, Jr., 1769-70

John Randolph, 1770-71

Thomas Everard, 1771-72

Dr. James Cocke, 1772-73

John Blair, Jr., 1773-74

John Dixon, 1774-75

Dr. William Pasteur, 1775-76


William Holt, 1776-77

William Holt, 1782-83

John Bracken, 1796-97

John Bracken, 1800-01

John Henderson, 1801-02

Richard Greenhow, 1805-06

Robert Carr, 1817-18

W. W. Webb, 1829

Thomas Coleman, 1830

William M. Moody, 1830

Henley Taylor, 1835

John J. Maupin, 1850

Robert Saunders, 1859

R. M. Garrett, 1859-63

Lemuel Bowden, 1862-63

W. R. C. Douglas, 1863-64?

John H. Barlow, 1864-67


Robert Saunders, 1868

Robert F. Cole, 1868

John D. Mumford, 1869

William A. Durfey, 1870-79?

John A. Henley, 1879-96

John L. Mercer, 1896-1904

E. W. Warburton, 1904-16

Dr. John M. Henderson, 1916-28

John Garland Pollard, 1928-29


George P. Coleman, 1929-34

Channing M. Hall, 1934-47

Vincent D. McManus, 1947-48

Dr. Henry M. Stryker, 1948-68

Vincent D. McManus, 1968-70

Vernon M. Geddy, Jr., 1970-84

Robert Walker, 1984-88

John Hodges, 1988-92

Trist B. McConnell 1992-96

Gilbert Granger, 1996-98

Jeanne Zeidler, 1998-2010

Clyde Haulman, 2010-2016

Paul Freiling, 2016 - present


Chosen by the State Legislature, 1776-1852
Elected by Popular Vote, 1852-Current



Patrick Henry, 1776-1779


Thomas Jefferson, 1779-1781


William Fleming

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

June 4-June 12, 1781


Thomas Nelson, Jr., June-Nov. 1781


David Jameson

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

Nov. 22-30, 1781


Benjamin Harrison, 1781-1784


Patrick Henry, 1784-1786


Edmund Randolph, 1786-1788


Beverley Randolph, 1788-1791


Henry Lee, 1791-1794


Robert Brooke, 1794-1796


James Wood, 1796-1799


Hardin Burnley

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

Dec. 7-11, 1799


John Pendleton

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

Dec.11-19, 1799


James Monroe, 1799-1802


John Page, 1802-1805


William H. Cabell, 1805-1808


John Tyler, Sr., 1808-1811


George W. Smith

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

Jan. 15-19, 1811


James Monroe, Jan. 19-April 3, 1811


George W. Smith

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

April 3-Dec. 6, 1811


George W. Smith, Dec. 6-26, 1811


Peyton Randolph

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

Dec. 27, 1811-Jan. 4, 1812


James Barbour, 1812-1814


Wilson Cary Nicholas, 1814-1816


James P. Preston, 1816-1819


Thomas Mann Randolph, 1819-1822


James Pleasants, 1822-1825


John Tyler, Jr., 1825-1827


William B. Giles, 1827-1830


John Floyd, 1830-1834


Littleton Waller Tazewell, 1834-1836


Wyndham Robertson

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

March 1836-March 1837


David Campbell, 1837-1840


Thomas Walker Gilmer, 1840-1841


John Mercer Patton

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

March 20-31, 1841


John Rutherford

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

March 1841-March 1842


John M. Gregory

member of the Council of State acting as Governor

March 1842-Jan. 1843


James McDowell, 1843-1846


William Smith, 1846-1849


John Buchanan Floyd, 1849-1852


Joseph Johnson, 1852-1856


Henry Alexander Wise, 1856-1860


John Letcher, 1860-1864


William Smith, 1864-1865


Francis Harrison Pierpont

Provisional Governor

May 1865-April 1868


Henry H. Wells

Provisional Governor

April 1868-Sept. 1869


Gilbert C. Walker

Provisional Governor

Sept. 1869-Dec. 1869


Gilbert C. Walker, 1870-1874


James Lawson Kemper, 1874-1878


Frederick W. M. Holliday, 1878-1882


William E. Cameron, 1882-1886


Fitzhugh Lee, 1886-1890


Philip W. McKinney, 1890-1894


Charles T. O'Ferrall, 1894-1898


James Hoge Tyler, 1898-1902


Andrew Jackson Montague, 1902-1906


Claude A. Swanson, 1906-1910


William Hodges Mann, 1910-1914


Henry Carter Stuart, 1914-1918


Westmoreland Davis, 1918-1922


E. Lee Trinkle, 1922-1926


Harry F. Byrd, 1926-1930


John Garland Pollard, 1930-1934


George C. Peery, 1934-1938


James H. Price, 1938-1942


Colgate W. Darden, Jr., 1942-1946


William M. Tuck, 1946-1950


John Stewart Battle, 1950-1954


Thomas B. Stanley, 1954-1958


J. Lindsay Almond, Jr., 1958-1962


Albertis S. Harrison, Jr., 1962-1966


Mills E. Godwin, Jr., 1966-1970


A. Linwood Holton, 1970-1974


Mills E. Godwin, Jr., 1974-1978


John N. Dalton, 1978-1982


Charles S. Robb, 1982-1986


Gerald L. Baliles, 1986-1990


Lawrence Douglas Wilder, 1990-1994


George Allen, 1994-1998


James S. Gilmore, III, 1998-2002


Mark. R. Warner, 2002-2006


Timothy S. Kaine, 2006-2010


Robert F. McDonnell, 2010-2014


Terence R. "Terry" McAuliffe, 2014-2018


Ralph S. Northam, 2018-present