UPDATE MARCH 30, 2020:  The following City of Williamsburg buildings and facilities are closed to the public through April 23:  Municipal Building, Stryker Center, Quarterpath Recreation Center, Waller Mill Park, Police Department and Fire Station (only required staff will be at work, others will be teleworking). Governor Northam issued a "stay at home" executive order through June 10, 2020. Business assistance information can be found here. The City's telephone hotline (for city service questions):  (757) 259-7200 and the Virginia Health Dept. call center (for COVID-19 questions/concerns):  (757) 594-7069.

Constitutional Officers

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

"I know of no safe depository of the ultimate powers of society but the people themselves."

--Thomas Jefferson (1820)

Building on a Tradition of Integrity, Service and Trust

In Virginia, the public elects not just its local, state and federal representatives, but also its constitutional officers, so named because their offices are specifically established by the Constitution of Virginia. This system dates back to the earliest days of the nation and is based on the presumption that the most important services of government should be made directly accountable to the citizens by popular vote.

Currently Serving the City of Williamsburg

Clerk of the Circuit Court Mona Foley
Commissioner of Revenue Judy Nightengale Fuqua
Commonwealth's Attorney Nate Green
Sheriff Bob Deeds
Treasurer Jennifer Tomes

The Clerk of the Circuit Court, Commonwealth's Attorney, Sheriff and Treasurer serve both the City of Williamsburg and James City County.