City Council

Paul Freiling Photo Doug Pons Photo Ted Maslin Barbara Ramsey Benming Zhang

Paul
Freiling
Mayor

 
Bio

Doug
Pons

Vice
Mayor

Bio

Ted
Maslin

Council
  Member

Bio

Barbara
Ramsey

Council
Member

Bio

  Benny
  Zhang
 Council
  Member

Bio

 

The City of Williamsburg operates under the Council-Manager form of government. All 5 members of Council are elected at-large, and appoint the Mayor, Vice-Mayor, City Manager, City Attorney, and Clerk of Council. The Mayor chairs the City Council and acts as the official head of the city government. The City Manager administers the city government, carrying out the policies of City Council.

The City Council meets in regular session on the second Thursday of each month at 2:00 p.m., in the Stryker Center located at 412 North Boundary Street. A work session is held the Monday of the same week at 4:00 p.m. in the Stryker Center. Meetings are open to the public and televised on WMSBG Cable Channel 48 which can be viewed live on this site with Windows Media Player. Past meetings may be viewed at eMeetings. Council members serve four year, staggered terms. Elections are held in May on even-numbered years.

Contact the City Council via email: council@williamsburgva.gov, or contact individual members at:

Paul T. Freiling, Mayor, (757) 229-5165 or (757) 220-6101 (City Manager's Office)
(Term Expires 6/30/2020)
email: pfreiling@williamsburgva.gov

Douglas G. "Doug" Pons, Vice Mayor, (757) 220-0961
(Term Expires 6/30/2022)
email: dpons@williamsburgva.gov

Barbara L. Ramsey, (757) 229-5109
(Term Expires 6/30/2020)
email:  bramsey@williamsburgva.gov

Benming "Benny" Zhang, (757) 920-3125
(Term Expires 6/30/2020)
email:  bzhang@williamsburgva.gov

Edward F. "Ted" Maslin, (757) 378-2536
(Term Expires 6/30/2022)
email:  tmaslin@williamsburgva.gov

Andrew O. Trivette, City Manager, (757) 220-6100
email: atrivette@williamsburgva.gov 

Christina Shelton, City Attorney, (757) 220-6253
email: cshelton@williamsburgva.gov

Debi Burcham, Clerk of Council, (757) 220-6100
email: dburcham@williamsburgva.gov