Filling Out the Application

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

When applying for any type of permit, there is some basic information needed.
The information is as follows:

Job Address: This will be the street address of the job. This may include an apartment or unit number, or lot number and subdivision name.
Owner Name & Address: This is the legal property owner's name, mailing address and phone number for the current property owner.
Contractor Name: The trade name of the contractor performing the job. If the owner is going to do the work and the value is over $1,000.00, the Virginia Department of Occupational and Professional Services requires a local building department to obtain an affidavit declaring exemption from licensure.
Contractor Address, Fax & Phone #'s: Mailing address, including Zip Code for the contractor. Office phone number to contact when permit is ready for pick-up. Office fax number and email of an office contact person.
Contact Person: Phone number and who to contact in regards to permit issuance or inspection results.
State Registration: All contractors in Virginia are required to have a state "license" or registration if the work involved is greater than $1,000.00 in value. All lawn irrigation and well drilling contractors are required to have a state registration, regardless of the job amount. Property owners doing their own work or general contracting are required to sign an affidavit claiming their exemption from licensing and obligation to use properly licensed individuals when others are performing work on a construction project.
State Tradesmen
Certification:
All plumbing, electrical and mechanical permit applicants must show proof of a master tradesman certification in each area type applied for.
Local Business License: A current local business license, or one recognized by the city, must be provided before a permit is issued. If the work will exceed $25,000.00, or if a contractor exceeds this amount in a calendar year, a Williamsburg business license must be obtained regardless. Information on business licenses can be obtained by contacting the Commissioner of Revenue at 220-6150.
State and local law require documentation of valid state and local licenses at the time of permit application.
Value of Work: This is the contract amount of the job and includes all material and labor.
Description of Work: A brief description of what is to be done. It may be as simple as "to remove existing and install a 100,000 BTU gas fired furnace." It may be "to construct an 8000 square foot restaurant."
Applicant Signature It should also be noted that a signature is required on all permits and applications. The permit may be signed and obtained by the owner or lessee, contractor, architect or engineer, or authorized agent for the owner, but it should be remembered that the permit is for work performed for or by the owner.